A minimum wage is the lowest hourly, daily or monthly wage that employers may legally pay to employees or workers. Under California law, the minimum wage is $8.00 per hour. The federal minimum wage is $6.55 per hour effective July 24, 2008. Beginning on July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in California rises to $9.00 per hour. It will rise again on January 1, 2016 to $10.00 per hour. Under the California Labor Code, agreements to work for less than minimum wages are illegal. Employees who are fired for objecting to being paid nothing or less than minimum wages for hours worked (including off the clock work, travel time, and computer login and boot up time), as well as time shaving, may sue for wrongful termination.
Explore the following types of illegal activity in employment:
- Wrongful Termination, Constructive Discharge, and Public Policy Violations
- Retaliation & Whistleblowers
- Employment Contracts & Severance Agreements
- Defamation of Character (Slander & Libel)
- Unpaid Overtime Wages
- Unpaid Minimum Wages
- Unprovided Rest Breaks and Meal Periods
- Failure to Pay Work-Related Expenses
- Medical & Family Leave (FMLA)
- Pregnancy & Maternity Leave
- Occupational Health & Safety
- Freedom of Speech
- Class Actions
- Private Attorney General Actions
- Invasion of Privacy
- Failure to Provide Reasonable Accommodations
Your free consultation with one of our attorneys is just a phone call away. You can reach us any time of day at
An experienced workplace rights lawyer is standing by to fight for you.
The Spivak Law Firm only accepts California, Washington D.C., and New York cases.
For further information about your rights at work Click Here